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The Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Machinery and Equipment is an incentive made available to new and expanding businesses
who use such equipment at a fixed location to manufacture, process, compound, or produce tangible personal property for sale,
or for exclusive use in spaceport activities. (Section 212.08 (5) (b), Florida Statutes)

Eligibility [—
« New Manufacturers '

In order to qualify for the new business exemption, the machinery and equipment
must have been purchased, or a purchase agreement made, prior to the date the
business first begins to produce a product for inventory or immediate sale. If purchase ‘
agreement was made prior to the beginning of production, such machinery and [ -- *
equipment must be received within twelve months of the date that production began.

« Expanding Manufacturers -

Industrial machinery and equipment is exempt from tax when purchased by an L
expanding business for the purpose of increasing “productive output” by not less than
ten percent. Sales or use tax of $50,000 for each calendar year of the expansion project
must be paid before the exemption or refund is available.

« Printing and Publishing

Printing firms qualify for the new or expanding business exemption and are not
subject to the $50,000 payment of sales or use tax requirement.

» Mining Activities

Those businesses engaged in mining activities may now qualify for the exemption.
However, those businesses may only receive the exemption by way of a future credit
against taxes. Mining businesses must also demonstrate the creation of new Florida
jobs in addition to the other exemption criteria that are applicable to non-mining
businesses.

« Repair and Labor Charges

Exemption on the sales tax on labor charges for the repair of, and parts and materials
used in the repair of and incorporated into, industrial machinery and equipment that
qualify for the sales tax exemption is also exempt. Florida Statute, 212.08 (7) (xx)

« Pollution Control Equipment

Sales, use or privilege taxes shall not be collected with respect to any facility or
machinery used primarily for the control of pollution in manufacturing, processing,
compounding, or producing for sale items of tangible personal property at a fixed
location. To qualify, such facility or machinery must be installed to meet a law
implemented by the Department of Environmental Protection. The purchaser must
sign a certificate stating that the facility or machinery to be exempted is required to
meet such law or condition. Florida Statues Chapter 212.051

Exclusions

The exemption statute specifically excludes electric utility companies, munications
companies, oil or gas exploration or production operations, publishing firms that do
not export at least 50 percent of their finished product out of the state, and any firm
subject to regulation by the Division of Hotels and Restaurants of the Department of
Business Regulation.
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http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=Ch0212/SEC08.HTM&Title=-%3e2005-%3eCh0212-%3eSection%2008#0212.08
http://www.flsenate.gov/statutes/index.cfm?mode=View%20Statutes&SubMenu=1&App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=212.051&URL=CH0212/Sec051.HTM

SALES D st T4 ON Y
eflorida.com }I\L\(}IINERY A}‘ID EQ!J]P J\'ENT Incentive |nformalti'on Sheet

Application Process

To access this exemption the following process is required:

* Register for sales and use tax purposes with the Florida Department
of Revenue (Form DR-1) and obtain a certificate of registration for
each business location conducting business in Florida.

* Submit an Application for Temporary Tax Exemption Permit
(Form DR-1214).Businesses are encouraged to file this form as early
as possible in advance of making their machinery and equipment
purchases.

Claiming the Exemption

+ Upon approval by the Department of Revenue, a Temporary Tax
Exemption Permit will be issued to the qualifying business or
instructions will be given on how to obtain a refund of previously
paid taxes. A business may extend a copy of its Temporary Tax
Exemption Permit to its vendors or to its authorized contractor(s)
for the purpose of purchasing qualifying machinery and equipment
for the new or expanding business.The authorized contractor(s)
may, likewise, extend the Temporary Tax Exemption Permit to its
vendor(s) for use in purchasing qualifying machinery and
equipment tax exempt.

For More Information

For more information call Tax Information Services, Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m.to 5:00 p.m. at 850.488.6800.
Statutory Reference: Florida Statutes, 212.08
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